World Solar Challenge 2019

The World Solar Challenge is a solar car race across Australia (from Darwin to Adelaide), held every two years. I have blogged extensively about the 2013, 2015, and 2017 events. The official website is up and running, and I have produced an annotated list of teams for 2019, which is regularly updated. I have also designed a board game inspired by the race, and written some route notes. Here is the route for the race (click to zoom; white dots are mandatory control stops):

In the Challenger class, the chart below summarises what happened two years ago (for the cars that did not trailer). It is drawn with reference to a baseline speed of 83.89 km/h. This is the speed that would complete the race (to “end of timing”) in 4 days and 5 hours. The left vertical axis shows how far behind the baseline cars are driving. Straight lines represent cars driving at a consistent speed. The right vertical axis shows arrival time at “end of timing” in Darwin time (Adelaide time is an hour later). The twists and turns of the lines here reveal many of the dramatic events of the race, such as the spate of bad weather:

The next chart shows the best teams from 2001 to 2017. Nuon (now Vattenfall), from the Netherlands, has dominated the event:

Past posts of potential interest include: