The High School Solar Car Challenge: past podiums

As I have already said, this year I am covering the (High School) Solar Car Challenge, as well as the upcoming university competitions in the US, Europe, and Morocco. The high school event will take place at the Texas Motor Speedway on July 15–22 (with Covid protocols in place). The race will be live-streamed via the event’s YouTube channel, or check out    and    (click on the icons).

I previously posted a list of high school teams for this year. Today I am taking a look at the podium for past years when the event was held at the same racetrack (click on the chart to zoom). I note that some of those past cars have made their way to Australia in the World Solar Challenge Adventure Class.

In the Advanced Division, we are (I understand) seeing the return this year of Cougar Pride (from Covenant Christian Academy, Colleyville, TX).

In the Electric-Solar Powered Division, we are seeing the return of Regulus III (from the Iron Lions at Greenville High School, Greenville, TX) and Outlaw III (from Coppell High School, Coppell, TX).

In the Advanced Classic Division, we are seeing the return of Apollo (from Prosper High School, Prosper, TX) and Cougar Spirit (also from Covenant Christian Academy, Colleyville, TX).

All data is obtained from the official website, so I hope that my robot minions have transcribed it correctly.

Below (also taken from the official website) are the 2019 winners of the Advanced, Electric-Solar Powered, and Classic Divisions (RAHS Green Energy Team – returning with a great new car; Iron Lions – returning with the same Regulus III; and the Pana Photons – not racing this year).

WSC 2013 starts this morning!

The World Solar Challenge is due to begin in a few hours (8:30 AM Australian Central Standard Time), as cars begin their run down the Stuart Highway. The forecast is for sunny weather, 24–34°C. Good luck to all, and hope you all make it to Adelaide for the 10–13 October finish!

Teams from Australia, Japan, USA, the Netherlands, Belgium, Canada, Singapore, Turkey, Switzerland, Indonesia, Italy, China, Sweden, Colombia, South Korea, Malaysia, Germany, Taiwan, New Zealand, the Philippines, Hong Kong, and Chile will be competing. The WSC website has a car tracker to show how far the teams have gone.

An entry (Tushka Hashi) reminiscent of the classic 1996 film Race the Sun comes from Choctaw Central High School in Mississippi. Special good wishes to the young people on that team!